Have to Say Goodbye


Have to Say Goodbye
By Shoeless Wonder

My heart has been broken
Though this is nothing new
For years I wouldn’t let it mend
Letting feelings continue to brew

This one goes out to all those who took my heart
It all started in high school
Falling for an innocent girl
Every action, that of a fool

Trapped in a cycle of love and pain
Thoughts that could not rearrange
Cheated on, abandoned, ditched with debt
Three times lost everything but rage

The next was one sided love
Gave my heart to someone who didn’t need it
Fought her battles, protected her
Absorbed her tears, but she wouldn’t commit

She lacked self respect
Always a wild flame
Though something in her did change
After we parted she became tame

Though she never saw what was before her
I was just a her teddy bear
Their to comfort her when things fell apart
Still not sure if she will ever be aware

This last one I will mention
Couldn’t make up her mind
Between the past and future
Leaving her soul in a bind

Moving forward caused her fear
She wasn’t ready to let things go
Unable to handle the reality of real
She returned to a seed waiting to grow

Each women I loved with all of my heart
Each time they were cruel in their own way
I have to sadly let go of them
Cause there is nothing for me if I stay

Others have touched my heart
Never hurting me as bad as these three
Instead I held the knife
And they bled because of me

I have apologized many times
Regretted things I have done
Though they all have one thing in common
None of them were meant to be the one.

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

One response to “Have to Say Goodbye

Leave a Reply

