Selfish


Selfish,

The older I become
I find myself lost
In the rising scum
Being swallowed by the cost

The cost of greed
Watching the weeds grow
Spreading the toxic seed
As humanity reaches a new low

I have to wonder what is next
As children rule parents
Through a simple shallow text
And curtsy is never spent

The human ego knows no bound
We have all known this for years
Yet its still here all around
Reducing the few goods, to tears

The more I see
The more I am ill
For there is nothing left to be
As the selfish cage anothers free will

We tell ourselves the lie
That we do not need to change
We are prefect till the day we die
This concept is off range

For it is easier to accept ourselves
Than is to renew
Easier to give advice
Than to see it through

Easier to choose your battle’s
Than actually fight the war
Easier to let emotions rattle
Than to chill the core

“Goodluck,” is all I can say
For I have started to rewrite my story
Decided it was no longer okay
To be selfish on my road to glory.

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

3 responses to “Selfish

Leave a Reply

