To Dad


To Dad

Dad I have not been the perfect son
I crumbled under the pressure of life
Thinking that you just added to my stress
I know my ignorance caused you strife

Things have gotten so bad between us
Because of me, this I know is true
You don’t have much to offer
But the truth is I do love you

I wouldn’t listen to your words
Though you tried to teach me anyway
As I grew so did the distance
Now I just wish we wouldn’t stray

I have my own son now as you know
I couldn’t imagine what I would do
If he never would give me the time
And say “Dad, I love you”

Growing up it always seemed
I never did things right
That making you proud was impossible
So I tried to hide from sight

Not happy with the choices I made
Knowing you would be disappointed
I broke your heart with silence
Now you feel unappreciated

Some of the best memories I have
Is just you and me
Chess, fishing, your gentle smile
It’s just now that I see

How much you really do mean
I am not a perfect son
You are not a perfect dad
Yet now I don’t wish to run

I want to work on figuring us out
A little bit at a time
For I am fixing who I used to be
My first step is this rhyme

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

2 responses to “To Dad

  • terri0729

    Very, very nice! It seems that we don’t appreciate our parents as much as we should until we are one. I too have had my distant periods but found my way back to stay. 🙂 Blessings, Terri

  • Almas Shamim

    such a lovely poem….
    i do not know if you wrote this for ur dad really, or… just out of imagination..
    if it is indeed for ur dad… im sure he’ll see the love shining in the words 🙂

    loving ur poems…
    🙂
    they’re such a wow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

