Skilled


Skilled

Perfection without trial
Essence captured at birth
A skill mastered without training
Was gifted to mother earth

Blessed in one fame
Lacks all the rest
One wonders their skill’s value
If they’re always at their best

The skilled only shrugged
As the rest looked on in awe
Unable to resist the power
Of the elegance they saw

The skilled cannot understand
Why they apperciate him so
When he sees that they are grand
For the variety of skills they know

As he only has this one
Though no one is better
He can’t help himself
And becomes slowly bitter

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

6 responses to “Skilled

  • Jingle

    becomes slowly bitter….

    well done, logic and reasoning, all eloquently presented!

    Thanks for sharing.

  • halfwaybetweenthegutter

    Sad ending, but fits perfectly. Wonderful.

  • mindlovemisery

    I love the last line. Its said most of us never recognize our own talent and potential (myself included) and we envy people theirs neglecting what we have, always dissatisfied with what we don’t. I have really been trying to push myself lately, writing regularly trying not to hold myself down or get in my own way.

  • deadpoet88

    Wonderful poem, and full of quite a lot of wisdom. I know we’ve all been that skilled person, wondering why others think we’re talented, and that we’re not good enough. You’ve really brought out that feeling well.

  • luna15

    Hmmm,
    slowly bitter because he does not understand?
    or am i not understanding?
    I know of many who get bitter for their “lot” in life
    and they don’t understand what it is to life, to write, to be.
    I feel sorry for them.
    or is he bitter because he is only skilled and great at that one thing.

    http://wp.me/p1dIj1-lH
    please go here.
    luna

  • Wine and Words

    I consider myself a jack of all trades, master of none. I get wistful about it. I would LOVE to be the best at something…Ant Racing,, Kiln Cleaning…Popsicle Eating…doesn’t really seem to matter. But being best of something seems like a fun deal. But perhaps you’re right. Bitterness at perfections misinterpretations would be the end result.

Leave a Reply

