Commenting 101


Commenting 101

Class is now in session
Pencils up its time for the lesson
It seems last week I wasn’t clear
So here I go more sincere

Now read this time
Recess has yet to chime
Since we are back in school
Its time to learn what is cool

Years ago you were told to show your work
Seems some still choose to wear a smirk
Doing D work and expecting A’s
For some comment like answering surveys

Though A students are in every class
But don’t forget there is also a jackass,
Rebel, jocks, liars, and a cheat
The brown noser that hides his deceit

Sorry it seems I’ve gone off task
“Now why are we here?” you might ask
The answer is simple, do bad work and repeat the grade
Those who turned in their paper may now go to the arcade

Mindlovesmisery, Luna, Jingle, Thingy, Rhyme me a smile
You all can go off and play for a while
Your work was well done and you should be proud
The rest of you need to now speak aloud

“I will from now on, complete my commitment
And justly fulfill my end of the requirement”
Which means in my text book
Saying how you feel, and what actions you took

In other words, why was the poem good
Though this part is not required, it is what you should
For knowing why your work has its power
Helps you feel on top of the highest tower

Even if you disagree with what is said
Politely explain why it brings you dread
Alright thats it for today
Please post up and move on your merry way.

I seems I may have been a little grumpy my pervious post. I have come to terms even before posting last weeks view that I could very well shoot myself in the foot. Writing is about freedom of opinion, feelings, and skill. Regardless the subject it should empower you. This is not an assault on simple comments more of a recommendation to a higher quality of web community. I am not asking you to spend an hour or two and form a page comment, or anything of the sort, here are just some simple examples that boost a poets self esteem ” Lovely poem, I really like how your rhyme scheme was done”, “elegant, the flow of the piece never faltered” “Wow outstanding, I personally could relate greatly to the first and second stanzas.” I know most of the poets and readers in this community already do this so it is not directed toward you it is directed to those who only publish a praise and not a reason why. This is not required by the communtiy though it is my personal view, and it is something I will continue to do thank you for reading and have a great rally.

No feeling is without cause,
Shoeless

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

45 responses to “Commenting 101

  • shoelessboywonder

    One more thing, This will be the last time I bring with up in my writing, for I am sure some are tired of hearing about it, also an apology if I offended anyone last week for I was just in a bad mood and took it out on the wrong forum. IT was little of me to do so.

  • Cindy Eksuzian

    The realism in your content is very refreshing! I don’t think it matters what you write about. This is the second poem of yours that I read and the intellectual movement in your verses is candid, sometimes humourous, sad, powerful, I could go on… REally great poem!
    Cindy

    • shoelessboywonder

      Well thank you I really appreciate your comments for they help me understand my strengths as well as allow me to know why I stand out in your mind. I look forward to your post and future visits 🙂

  • K. McGee

    OMG! This is great. I’m going to make my son read every word of it for what is now probably an obvious reason (he’s turning into a slacker). That said, I think it is completely awesome the way you molded the end to speak to/about the rally requirements and our commitment. Great job.

    • shoelessboywonder

      Well thank you, and I hope your son gets the point, the skills you learn in school no matter how dumb you may think they are will come in handy down the road for jobs interviews, resumas, friendships and so on. though I am only 23 It was a lesson I had to learn the hard way.

  • Paul

    Point made, the accompanying poetry functions well, but is still a tad grumpy 🙂
    Nice write

    • shoelessboywonder

      Yeah still a little grumpy but not so much as last week….dont know just let it boil over last week now its just a nice steam rolling off the water….so by next week I should be all better back to my chilled self 🙂

  • moondai

    who cares if you were grumpy! I have every right to be what you want to be! You totally have a point there! But sometimes, some people find it hard to find the right words to say why he/she likes something.. or dislikes something.. but wants to let you know any way. Some people are just shallow, I’ll give you that. But some people are just.. they don’t know how to express themselves. But I’m sure most of them mean well 🙂 Anyway. Point made! 😉

  • Wine and Words

    Lol. I read your previous post. Who are we to redact or edit? It is you we wish to hear. Why would we read, just to her our own echo. zzzzzz. I wonder at those not willing to shoot themselves in the foot (myself included on occasion). Why else are we here. This is the place to lay it all out there!

  • Jingle

    Thanks for sharing…Hope that you get more poets to agree with you,

    Happy Rally.

    • shoelessboywonder

      Agreeing with me is one thing, understanding is another. Jingle you are a great friend, and though we vary from time to time, I do understand. Thank you for your continued support and have a great rally. And remember if you need anything I’ll do my best to give ya a hand

  • Leo

    My name is missing there, so I think I’m still in class 🙂 I do agree with you, and I’ve got and also given my fair share of reasonless phrases as comments. I do it more so when I can’t follow what is going on in the poem, but I like the poem and not wanting to write a negative comment there! However, I think a reason for the praise is warranted and will try to do that always..! Lovely way to express those emotions!

  • Andy McDonald

    What a fun little lesseon!

  • Purvi

    Awwww ! Heart touching. You have said what I have felt at times too. But actually, shortage of time is to be blamed. I enjoyed it for the interesting way you put a complaint. Well, all I can say is, I really do try to connect and write real comments on verses, though, when I fail to connect to one entirely, I simply refrain from commenting. One cannot relate to everyone on Earth too. 🙂

    • shoelessboywonder

      I understand that time can be an issue with some, but if your passion is writing and you have multiple days to compelete before the dead line has passed you should still have at least 3-5mintues to write a sentence or two. I use school as and example for if you were in school you could not tell the teacher, well I didn’t have time. when the report was do weeks away. Though most of us are out of school, yet this concept is still valid. thank you for your great comment and have a great rally

  • carefreewanderer

    Well,I agree with you.My opinion is that some people don’t even read and try to understand the poem.It makes you feel so unappreciated, as if your writing isn’t worth that much when you know that those words are pieces of your own soul.I appreciate the fact that yo have actually come forward and presented your ideas on this.Well done!

    • shoelessboywonder

      Thank you, i am glad you can reflect on my writing and understand where I am coming from…i just think its funny that even after what I had stated some just stick out like sore thumbs on my comments, letting you know they either didnt read or grasp the concept i was trying to share. sad but true….seems I know who to comment on in return though 😛

    • shoelessboywonder

      Thank you, i am glad you can reflect on my writing and understand where I am coming from…i just think its funny that even after what I had stated some just stick out like sore thumbs on my comments, letting you know they either didnt read or grasp the concept i was trying to share. sad but true….seems I know who to comment on in return though 😛

  • genebrother

    I never read your grumps and pains so what I read today was meant to entertain.
    Entertain and explain what you feel and that I enjoyed as you are you and me is me.

    Thank you and continue please

    Genebrother

  • ladynimue

    Its the first time I read your blog .. and the topic that you talk of is something i was planning to write myself .. ok , so I liked the treatment .. I mean its a good analogy between a classroom and the blogs world or to say any community … This was not offending what you said ,, if it is , its to the one who knows he/she should be spending time reading others .. and reading well 🙂

    Good one here !

    • shoelessboywonder

      Thank you and I am glad to hear your on the same page as I, though my apology is more ment towards my poem “the Drowning Poet” the post just before this one for it says the same message just very asshole like. And some were offended, not just those that needed to be but those who it was directed too. so i redid it to better narrow down what I was talking about.

  • ladynimue

    Then I am going over to check that now !
    🙂

  • Paulami

    hits hard but i guess that is meant to be effective. could not agree more. but if you ask my humble opinion about the poem then i would just like to say that you could have done better with your skills because somehow the poetry drags. feel free to think otherwise. there is freedom of thought as well.

    Peace.

  • veronicadimarco

    could never agree more with you.
    *you expect something big, when you don’t invest much on it*

    i like how you speak your mind here. I can write and express better when I’m grumpy…all the more when I am really really angry. You speak the truth when you feel this way…or so in my case.

    http://veronicadimarco.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/my-vendetta-for-you/

    please do comment on this one. I like how your mind works.
    Write on! \m/

  • luna15

    As I laugh
    I walk outta class
    boy I needed this today!

    My days been shit
    thought I would read
    for a bit

    an boy you made me
    almost forget it!
    you made me laff
    its not a gaff

    Boy I needed this today
    We write how we feel
    you are a marvel
    I reveal

    Oh how I needed this
    today!

    Thank you,
    by the way.
    Luna

  • mindlovemisery

    I was surprised to see my name in your poem, wow thank you so much =) Very cleverly done it reminds me of when teachers ask for end of the year evaluations and everyone just bubbles in excellent and never gives any comments or genuine feedback in the open-ended questions

  • poetryroad

    Mindlovesmisery, Luna, Jingle, Thingy, Rhyme me a smile
    You all can go off and play for a while
    Your work was well done and you should be proud
    The rest of you need to now speak aloud

    Love that you included some of our writers in your poem this week!

    As the end of the year comes to a close I know this theme is always strongly felt by students young and old! Enjoyed this very much!

  • swanrose

    While I agree with you for the most part. I will say I like people’s poems without leaving a comment a lot more than I used to. The reason being the volume of reading I am trying to keep up with (not just here). One thing I do a lot is copy and paste my favorite line and compliment it. As I have increased my reading I have found I am a lover of lines. It may stand out as simply my favortite part. Or honestly sometimes the only part I like a lot and I would rather point out the positive. All that said this spoke volumes. Nice job…

  • swanrose

    oh when I said liked I was speaking of hitting the like button 🙂

  • clariice

    I applaud you 🙂 Since I have joined, I have tried as much as I could to put in more sincere comments and relate to each of the 18 pieces which was part of the requirement. However, at times I do find it hard to keep up with the daily flow of comments but I will endeavour to keep trying and put in my sincere thoughts.
    Encourage each one of us to keep going and creating!

    Great piece you have – The idea of a class to describe our weekly rally was really great! I wouldnt have been able to think of it myself but when I read it through, I couldnt see anything that may sound illogical 😀

    So keep it up and happy rally!

  • The Lonely Recluse

    Hahaha, nice way to get aross your message my friend. I loved the use of narrative, the idea of school to get the message from you to the reader. Brought a smile to my eye and a challenge to my mind.
    The Lonely Recluse.

  • ashbeezone

    gr8 thoughts been shared ….
    I like the how the emotions flows throughout the poetry
    Here’s mine poetry work ..
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/satisfy-the-hunger-of-success/

    HAPPY RALLY !! xD

  • tarunima ..

    my first time here.
    i liked the way you expressed your emotions in a very conversational manner.
    also the message was good,i guess most of us would agree with that- a compliment without reading and understanding just wastes the entire energy and thought process one puts in while conjuring up a write up.
    thanks for sharing:)

  • Leonargo

    I had a nice laugh at “time to learn what is cool” . Thoroughly enjoyable piece for us blogostudents. 🙂

  • Ms. Queenly

    I love the rhyme and the schoolhouse theme, shoeless. The first stanzas certainly remind me of how I used to think of ‘slackers’ as one of the brainy kids back in high school -_-. I also agree very much with your note and found myself saying something similar when people commented on a poem of mine in such a fashion. The poem meant a lot to me, I shared it, and I kinda felt like people weren’t reading it. Anyway, nice work ~MsQ

Leave a Reply

