Regret


Regret

When the future looks at the past
Nothing the present can offer
Can create a reason to last
As the past sees a future to suffer

Our past selves may disagree
With all that we do believe
When we were younger we could see
The truth of how to be

As future years reach present
Life teaches us how to lie
Fueling our fated decent
Making our inner child cry

Its sad when we age
Simple things are forsaken
Feeling the pull of a page
Or hate from candy taken

Now look at yourself and think
Would you as a child like you?
Or would he say you stink
Knowing you were no longer true

True to who you once were
That honor had disappeared
Would he be able to concur
That you hadn’t veered

Few can say they are proud
That they had only gained
Living in pleasuring sound
That morals had never been slain

Though for most regret is truth
A future where we are a thug
Far from any kind of sleuth
When our soul is a bug

As we can never return to the past
To fix what we did wrong
Our futures have been cast
Every second we move on

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

5 responses to “Regret

  • TestingTrueChange

    A beautiful and true poem 🙂

  • sarajanell

    Very, very strong. Awesome.

    “As future years reach present
    Life teaches us how to lie
    Fueling our fated decent
    Making our inner child cry”

  • orange

    Wow… beautiful… Now look at yourself and think
    Would you as a child like you?
    Or would he say you stink
    Knowing you were no longer true…

    Really thought provoking words…

  • ~L

    This is amazing!!! It’s very catchy and sound…. Very well done:)

  • mindlovemisery

    I love the questions you’ve posed here so many of us loss sight of what’s important. I have always thought children innately understand the meaning of life and live in accordance with their inner nature. I think we forget as we age and try to become something, instead of being what we are. Though if I answered I would say I was a little hyperactive bastard when I was a kid lol. I believe I’ve connected more with who I am now that I’ve gotten out of a sick childhood tragedy

Leave a Reply

