Heart of Thorns


Heart of Thorns

Everything that grows
Learns to protect itself
Eventually it shows
No hiding on the shelf

I am no different
The damages of my past
Make it hard for me to vent
And made my defenses vast

Reaching for my heart
Is like grabbing a blade
One slip you’ll be cut
And from you I shall fade

My heart is covered in thorns
Only a gentle steady hand
Has a chance to avoid the toxin
And the only way you’ll understand

So if you want me be prepared
For I am not easy to hold
I’ll hurt you before you have a chance
So don’t be easy to fold

My heart contains treasures
You’ll never be lonely again
Once my heart is yours
I’ll be there till the end.

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

2 responses to “Heart of Thorns

Leave a Reply

