Immortal


Immortal

Today starts like all the rest
For life is just a never ending test
I have been living for so long
I can no longer see right from wrong
I only take whatever i need at the time
Be it affection or some “evil” crime

Though death and I have never met
I know him well and his debt
Wondering around where he does please
Beating people down to their knees
Or cursing them to continue to linger
Till they can no longer lift a finger

I have raised my children, and their kin
I have seen and done every single sin
I watched the fall of Rome
I am the author of many tomes
I helped bury many kings
Grow flowers in new springs

I have lived in every country
I have seen the birth and death of a tree
The rise and fall of nations
Their crumbling relations
Created a change in fashions
Been a tool for an others passions

I have been nice, and been cruel
But was never one to rule
I am done with all I have seen
I want to move past this existence’s screen
Its way past time for me to continue
Yet tomorrow I’ll see it through

I am time’s pond in life’s game
With no reason to have a name
For my name can never out last me
Cause life and death can’t agree
You will remember me for the rest of your life
Soon, I’ll forget you like the fleeting tone of a fife

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

4 responses to “Immortal

Leave a Reply

