Gone But Not Forgotten


Gone But Not Forgotten

I hear the buzzing of my alarm clock
Another restless night of failed dreams
Turing off the buzzer I hear a knock
From my bedroom door it streams

Sitting up I acknowledge the pounding
Ignoring me it continues its rhythm
In my mind the sounds begin compounding
As stand finding the momentum

I open the door with a look of disgust
Just to find no one on the other side
Shaking my head to my ears unjust trust
Setting my cloths for the day aside

Grabbing a towel I head to the shower
Washing the night sweats away
The hot water slowly begins to empower
Drying off I prepare for the fruitless day

Brushing my teeth, shaving hair off my face
Staring at the mirror and the image staring back
The knocking returns at the same steady pace
As the weight of the day begins to stack

Opening the bathroom door to see no one there
I head back to my room to become dressed
My eyes keep my barely alive solemn stare
The knocking returns as if it was obsessed

Now clothed I head for my kitchen to cook
Making a fantasy breakfast for only myself
After eating I grab my tattered note book
Taking my keys off the top of my book shelf

The knocking returns to the front door
Opening it I walk out side into the light
Starting my car I drive past the liqueur store
The knocking is over till the fateful night

I am at work now staring at the computer screen
Typing away my imagination, listening to the morons
The hours pass slowly and I continue my zombie routine
Doing my best to distance myself from all the wrongs

The day is over and I head home
Once home I check the mail
To find package in the shape of a dome
Opening it i find cookies that are stale

I carry them into my house and sit alone
The knocking returns shortly after my return
I answer the front door to find I am not on my own
A women from my past stands there full of concern

Eyes of joy to see me standing before her
Confused by this she takes my hand and begins to pull
I walk forward back outside totally unsure
She takes me into her car and asks me if I am hungry or full

I answer that I only had a cookie to eat for dinner
She drives to a restaurant and talks about the past
Remarking on the fact that I have become much thinner
Saying she is so happy that she had found me at last

Been looking for me for many years
I couldn’t think of why she would search
She orders a couple of cold beers
Telling me how she left a man at a church

Saying that she never should have left me
As she leans over and gives me a tender kiss
I began thinking how perfect it would be
And as my mind begins to fill with this bliss

I hear the alarm buzzing in my ear
I awake staring at the numbers on the clock
My eyes feel with a remorseful tear
Suddenly I hear a faint steady knock

The knock is coming from my front door
I get up confused from the night
My thoughts begin to soar
I open the door letting in mornings light

My eyes open wide full of shock
To see her standing there with smile
That she was the one that gave the knock
She laughs and says “its been awhile”

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

7 responses to “Gone But Not Forgotten

Leave a Reply

