Last Man’s Journal


Last Man’s Journal

Year One

Its been a year since I saw a real live person
I have just buried my wife and my last son
I am 32 and alone in the world that died
The earth has been ravaged and flash fried
Society has crumbled away into nothing
I shall continue to live to find myself something
Its time to leave my house and hit the busted road
Carrying all that I can still hold, A light load
Leaving all reminders of the former life I had
So my memories wont drive me into the mad
I know there must be someone else alive out here
So, off into this now ugly world of bitter fear

Year 5

Its been years since I saw a real live person
People I’ve seen, but they are truly worsened
Who had lost all humanity inside there hearts
Lives held together by spare pieces and parts
The starvation of their longing souls ate away
Any reason for them to keep their selfless way
The fire for survival stays barely lit inside
While they continue to find some future to reside
Having given up on hope they look forward with empty eyes
Hollow eyes hide shallow minds full of self enforced lies
They believe these lies to keep a pale reflection of inner peace
For everything that gave them joy, care, hope, and love did cease

Year 10

Its been years since I saw a real live person
So long now I feel that I may be the last one
I wont give into my self pity, there is no reason
I will continue forward through each changing season
My search for humanity is all I can hope to find
Someone who remembers what its like to be kind
Who hasn’t turned back to being a savage
Someone who wont give into their baggage
Just one out of the masses that can understand
How important it is to hope and how it is grand
So I no longer have to hide behind my plain mask
Who is also up to the ever difficult task

Year 20

Its been years since I saw a real live person
Sneaking around or forced to be on the run
I becoming bored with always moving on
Tired of being the right in the wrong
With each step the ruined world shrinks
With each new wasteland my heart sinks
Death is all around, There is no sweet sound
My feet are bare against the barren ground
I have worn through the soles of my shoes
Now I have truly nothing more to lose
My knees have taken on to much stress
Though I will not let myself regress

Year 40

It was years since I saw a real live person
I’ve seen someone today, reminding  me of my son
He gave me some food, and asked my name
Then wondered if I could remember a game
I smiled for the first time in forty years
This brought my soul and eyes to tears
This angel I had met asked if I wanted to rest
He knew this was my final day and it was best
Laying down I finish out my journal
Knowing that I was never eternal
The boy mentions a farm and town just out of sight
I will give him this book, the story of my blight
I can now rest in happiness and be at peace
I was not alone, when my heart beat ceased

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

7 responses to “Last Man’s Journal

Leave a Reply

