Moths to the Flame


Moths to the Flame

We are all just moths to the flame
Seeking out our own sense of fame
Hoping to get close and not be burned
By all the joys we hope to have learned
Though our fate is to enter the fire
To be consumed by our forceful desire
We are all just moths to the flame
Trying to avoid the sense of shame
Shaking off the feeling of defeat
Longing to become at last complete
Falling for the worst possible deceit
As we try to deflect our previous defeat
We are just moths to the flame
Looking for something to claim
Some reason why we should try
Our own mark before we die
Yearning to pass the quiz
But the honest truth is
We are Just moths to the flame
Lost in living’s tragic game.

Created for my Sister who make a humble request and who is helping me through my hard time.  Her endless support gives me the courage to seek out my flame and if I am to be burned she will be more than happy to put iodine on it and smile.  ;-P  Love you sis.

Happy Birthday Sister, I hope it is to your liking.

Copyrighted, March 14th, 2010 4:22am. Though all my work is Copyrighted, I felt this was good enough to make sure everyone understood.

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

5 responses to “Moths to the Flame

Leave a Reply

