Falling Friend.


Falling Friend.

I stand here watching you become weak and crumble
Fighting me as I try to help when you stumble
You claim the bottle is your only friend
Keeping it rather than me in the fading end
Your other comrades agree with the path you are on
Lost in their own pain they can’t see they are wrong
Oh what my sober eyes can see
On this path you’ll never be free
I will clean up your mess every time
Because I know you don’t know your crime
My heart breaks every day I see you beating yourself up
Your eyes are that of a sick beaten starved bloody pup
That snaps at the hand that offers you kindness
Cause your vision is so blurred its like blindness
To any kind of positive affection,
You’ve lost all sense of direction
Oh what my sober eyes can see
On this path you’ll never be free
I will clean up your mess every time
Because I know you don’t know your crime
I have no right to live your life
To do so would focus your strife
Towards the one that wants to see you through
Your old forgotten battered bruised buddy shoe
I am still here let go of the bottle of death
Just like when you put down that pipe of meth
Oh what my sober eyes can see
ON this path you’ll never be free
I will clean up your mess every time
Because I know you don’t know your crime
I’ll help you stand once again
If you would just let me in
I don’t want to collect you off the bathroom floor
Put you in bed shaking my head as I close your door
Though if you wont listen to my faded reason
I will take care of you every changing season.
Oh what my sober eyes can see
ON this path you’ll never be free
I will clean up your mess every time
Because I know you don’t know your crime

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

12 responses to “Falling Friend.

Leave a Reply

