Dearest Growing Son of Mine


Dearest Growing Son of Mine

Dearest growing son of mine,
What has happened to the time
When did you learn to walk
When did you learn to talk
I am sorry I am not there
To teach you how to share
What it means to be fair
To show you that I care
Dearest growing son of mine,
What has happened to the time
I feel guilty for this remorseful crime
As I sit here to write this sweet rhyme
To my son who I do not know
To a son I couldn”t watch grow
How do I tell you that I am proud
That I yell your name out so loud
Dearest growing son of mine
What has happened to the time,
Nicholas, your Dad does love you
Just doesn’t know how to show you
Your Dad wishes he could do more
To let you know his heart is tore
From never being able to be around
This causes your Dad to break down.
Dearest growing son of mine,
What has happened to the time,
All I wish for you is to be happy
Not to grow up bitter or be snappy
So let your Dad know what you need
Tell me if you want to be freed
If there is anything I can ever do
I’ll do my best to make it up to you
Dearest growing son of mine,
What has happened to the time.

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

5 responses to “Dearest Growing Son of Mine

Leave a Reply

