This Color of Red


This Color of Red

My life is turning dark red
Laying here trapped in bed
Wondering where the colors have gone
Listening to the same old long song
This red sickness takes hold
Warping my mind to a new mold
As I become cold, starting to be bold
I am sick with anger today
I don’t know why I am this way
This color red, is in my head
Turning my body into lead,
Soon I’m sure I’ll be dead,
My feelings of love start to vanish
Forgetting what I used to cherish
As this color of hate takes over
I scream at my forsaken lover
Struggling to stand, I swing my hand
To weak to finish my blow
I just miss swinging low
This color red, is in my head
Turning my body into lead,
Soon I’m sure I’ll be dead,
For she left many long years ago
Cause our love failed to grow
This color of red, is now in my bed
Feeding me booze, So I will lose
Any real sense of emotion,
Red has set this in motion
I have started to turn bitter
Yet have never felt any better,
This color red, is in my head
Turning my body into lead,
Soon I’m sure I’ll be dead,
Dead to success, Dead to my best
This color red has won,
For I am now no one.

Written for the alcoholics of the world, and those who have never gotten past their rage.

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

2 responses to “This Color of Red

  • tiffk1023

    Wow–the intense struggles and pent up frustration were incredible in this post. I really felt a connection to everything you were saying, and it all just had so much substance and meaning to it. Really great job

  • Jingle

    cheer up, life is similar to everyone, get up, join our Rally, reach out to 12 poets, u feel better…
    no obligations.
    welcome to our team any time!

Leave a Reply

