The Dream Of What Could Have Been


The Dream Of What Could Have Been

I had a dream today about what could have been
Of you, me, our son, and his next of kin’
Of us happy as we once were years ago
Us together watching our kids grow
In this dream I spoke with my boy
Hearing him speak with such over joy
In this dream of what could have been
Of you, me, our son, and his next of kin
This life of perfect bliss that will never be
Because love fell apart for both  you and me
So now I stare up at the disturbing world above
Trying to figure out this awkward dream of love
I thought I was past this emotional tie
Though I am sure it was all a joyful lie
In this dream of what could have been
Of you, me, our son, and his next of kin
It seemed so real, that I could even feel
The love in my heart once again
Begin to show its pleasant grin
As I lay here pondering this self confusion
The memory begins to fade of this illusion
Of this dream of what could have been
Of you, me, our son, and his next of kin.

About shoelessboywonder

Poet and cook, I'm just starting out in the web world trying to grow a fan base for my poetry, it seems like its off to a good start and the site is also made for me to improve upon my writing skills so please rate and comment on the poems you like best, feedback is the greatest way to success thanks for checking me out and my site. View all posts by shoelessboywonder

2 responses to “The Dream Of What Could Have Been

Leave a Reply

